.main-content div[id*="om"]{margin-top:15px !important ;margin-bottom:15px !important;}  
Login to Premier Gospel

Jekalyn Carr “dazzles” at the Stellar Awards

The 36th Annual Stellar Awards night belonged to one woman; singer/songwriter Jekalyn Carr. The 24  year-old co-hosted the event, performed and picked up two awards; Traditional Female of the Year and Traditional Album of the Year. 

Named by Donald Lawrence “...as one of my favourite young artists,” Carr is the first female artist to be inducted into the Songwriter's Hall of Fame for gospel songwriting.

Carr excelled in her hosting duties but it’s her glamourous wardrobe changes that got social media buzzing. The star drafted in celebrity stylist J Bolin to design 5 custom pieces, which all turned out to be huge hits with the audience and her 682k strong Instagram following. “…@jekalyncarrr and @stylistjbolin Y’all smashed those gowns out the park! Magnificent! #stellars” posted Grammy nominee Brian Courtney Wilson. Tasha Cobbs echoed Wilson’s sentiments posting: “NAILED EVERY SINGLE LOOK!!!...”

The event was graced with performances from gospel legends Hezekiah Walker, The Clark Sisters, Cece Winans and Yolanda Adams amongst others. Comedian Jonathan Slocumb spiced up the night for the audience by passing the mic to Kim Burrell and Melvin Crispell III for impromptu off-stage performances. Burrell delivered a jazzed up rendition of "Happy Birthday" for Naomi Raine’s daughter whilst Crispell reimagined Hezekiah Walker‘s “Wonderful is Your Name,” much to the delight of the crowd. 

The Stellar Awards Show airs on BET on 1st August. Here's a shortlist of the major category winners:

Artist of the Year: Pastor Mike Jr.
Song of the Year: “Something Has To Break” Kierra Sheard ft. Tasha Cobbs Leonard
Male Vocalist of the Year: Jonathan McReynolds
Female Vocalist of the Year: Tasha Cobbs Leonard
Group/Duo of the Year: The Clark Sisters
New Artist of the Year: Maverick City Music
Album of the Year: Maverick City Music Vol 3 Part 1 by Maverick City Music
Choir of the Year: JJ Hairston & Youthful Praise
Producer of the Year: Jonathan McReynolds
Contemporary Group/Duo of the Year: Anthony Brown & group therAPy
Traditional Group/Duo of the Year: The Clark Sisters
Contemporary Male of the Year: Jonathan McReynolds
Traditional Male of the Year: Donnie McClurkin
Contemporary Female of the Year: Tasha Cobbs Leonard
Traditional Female of the Year: Jekalyn Carr
Traditional Album of the Year: Changing Your Story by Jekalyn Carr
Music Video of the Year: “Something Has To Break” Kierra Sheard
Traditional Choir of the Year: Ricky Dillard
Rap/Hip Hop Gospel Album of the Year: Big: Freedom Sessions by Pastor Mike Jr.

Written by Akosua DF, Premier Gospel Presenter

The Best of Premier Gospel straight to your inbox
You may also like...

Oprah Winfrey’s recent interview with Harry and Meghan attracted... More

Akin to the Cosby Show’s Rudy Huxtable, gospel singer Jekalyn... More

This weekend’s Stellar award’s show promises to be a star-studded... More